Tuesday, July 18, 2006

News about The Hold Steady

My favorite working band, The Hold Steady, will release its new album "Boys and Girls in America" on October 3. The title refers to the opening lines of the first track, "Stuck Between Stations" -- "There are nights when I think Sal Paradise was right./Boys and girls in America have such a sad time together." Having heard the song performed live twice, and, according to iTunes, having played an acoustic mp3 of it (available here) 45 times, it would be an understatement to say that I'm excited that I'll have the full neck-grabbing version of the song a few days after I turn 30.

The next ten years will be good to me.

The second track, "Chips Ahoy," is some of the most raucous hard-rocking since AC/DC hit its prime.

From what I saw and heard at their last two shows in New York, the new album won't be as thematically intense as "Separation Sunday," veering instead toward the direction of rowdy fun.

Here is the new track list:

01 Stuck Between Stations
02 Chips Ahoy!
03 Hot Soft Light
04 Same Kooks
05 First Night
06 Party Pit
07 You Can Make Him Like You
08 Massive Night
09 Citrus
10 Chillout Tent
11 Southtown Girls


teenagekicks said...

Hey, thanks for visiting my site -- i made a new post on my site linking back to your awesome tracklist. Stuck between Stations is so fucking good. I'm dying to hear the album version.

So Modesto, gotta dance, hot fries and curves/nerves were all throwaways? shit, this is a tight band.

CrimeNotes said...

Yeah, I looked on blogsearch to see if anyone was writing about the new album and you were one of the few. Can't wait for it. I've written about them several times and I get redundant, but they've somehow synthesized everything that's great in American rock.